Introducing the 2018 PhD Scholars!


We're thrilled to introduce our first cohort of Mawazo PhD Scholars!  We received 170 applications for the 10 spots in this programme, demonstrating the high levels of demand for research funding and training amongst Kenyan PhD students.  After a difficult selection process, we chose ten exceptionally talented women.  Keep an eye out for profiles of each Scholar and their work over the coming weeks!

From left to right:

  • Winnie Nyamboki, Economics, University of Nairobi
  • Rachel Strohm, Mawazo COO
  • Teresiah Nijihia, Agriculture, Jomo Kenyatta University of Agriculture and Technology
  • Judith Koskey, Environmental Studies, Egerton University
  • Jacqueline Owigo, Political Science, United States International University
  • Peris Ambala, Medicine, Kenyatta University
  • Marilyn Ronoh, Mathematics, University of Nairobi
  • Rose Mutiso, Mawazo CEO
  • Edinah Song'oro, Biology, Jomo Kenyatta University of Agriculture and Technology
  • Susan Gichuna, Environmental Studies, University of Nairobi
  • Elizabeth Benson, Computer Science, Jomo Kenyatta University of Agriculture and Technology
  • Melisa Achoko Allela, Visual Arts, Technical University of Kenya
  • Elaine Mungai, Mawazo Programme Manager